Deutsche Rennsport Meistershaft (DRM)

Picture from this championship

This championship was founded in 1972 as German championship for group A2 and A4 cars. They were divided into two divisions. Both divisions usually ran in two separate races. In 1977 group 5 cars were admitted and championship was often much better supported then World Championship!

In 1982 new group C cars appeared in DRM. The same year only one division was introduced. But starting field were small next year, so to DSM, as the championship was called now, were counted some World Endurance Races in 1984 and most of Interserie races in 1985. This was the last year of Deutsche Sportwagen Meisterschaft. But sportscars in Germany didn't die, because new Supercup series was run next years.