SportsRacing WORLD CUP

Picture from this championship

1997 1998 1999 2000

Drivers Teams

Brno 1998 Nürburgring 1998 Brno 1999 Brno 2000


This championship was founded by John Montgoletsi and started International Sports Racing Series. It was the first international championship in Europe for sports prototypes after many years. The top prototype category is called SR1, the second category is SR2. Protagonists of ISRS in its first season were Ferrari and Courage in SR1 and Centenari with Debora in SR2. But the first ever ISRS race won TWR-Porsche in its only start.

Before season 1998 an interest in rinnung this championship increased and many new-built Ferraris and Riley & Scotts appeared. One of races was held in South African Kyalami where sportscar race returned after 10 years of absence. Grow of the ISRS continued in 1999 so FIA decided to give this championship World Cup statute.

For 1999 co-operation with USRRC was announced. Two races in USA and two in Europe should form new Trans-Atlantic Challenge but after USRRC cancelled some of their races, John Montgoletsi postponed the project for 2000 season in which strong partnership with new formed Grand-Am was made.